Post-Election 2016 Thoughts


The last couple of days have been tough. Elections are always tough because there are always losers; it just hurts more when you feel like you’re one of the losers.

If you feel like I do, I suggest that you proactively do what you need to do to grieve and recover. Be gentle with yourself–you may be very fragile or tender–but with time and effort you can heal. I don’t know the future of our nation; I weep for all of us who are afraid–many even more afraid than I am. But we must persevere. Always. No matter what. Don’t give up. Not now; not ever. Keep fighting because the United States is worth the effort, but more importantly, you are worth the effort. A presidency you do not support or understand does not make you any less of a person no matter what others may say or think.

I will leave you with the lyrics from one of my favorite (and most referenced) songs–i by Kendrick Lamar:

“The world is a ghetto with big guns and picket signs

I love myself

But it can do what it want whenever it want, I don’t mind

I love myself

He said I gotta get up; life is more than suicide

I love myself

One day at a time; the sun’s gonna shine.”

The world may seem a scary and divisive place, but you must ignore your haters and love yourself because you are valuable of love even in this scary climate. No matter what, no matter who you are, no matter what you look like, no matter what God you believe in, no matter where you came from, no matter who you love–you matter. Take it one day at a time because I believe Kendrick is right; one way or another the sun is going to shine.

Leave a Reply

