New Diagnosis


Well, my life just changed more dramatically than I expected: my 6 year old daughter was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes on Tuesday. I’m sort of at a loss as to what to say. I have stayed pretty positive, refusing to indulge the negative thoughts that have entered my brain over the last few days. But I know that I may not be able to permanently keep this wall of strength from being flooded by the wave of emotions that I have been fighting. My daughter has a life-long auto-immune disease. For now, she has to have 6 injections a day along with 6 finger pricks. My baby! She has to deal with a dozen needle pricks every day! It is tough to do that to my kid, but when it hurts her and I apologize, she always says, “It’s ok, mom”. She is amazing, brave, strong, and many other wonderful things.
I have no idea what this change in my life will mean for the blog, but I will at least attempt to keep writing. My life will be a rollercoaster of emotion over the next few weeks, and it will be interesting to see how I do holding off my depressive habits. But I have a great support system in place. I know my daughter NEEDS me more than ever, and I still have hope for my future and hers. Stay strong even in the face of difficulty. Peace, love, and health to all of you.

Leave a Reply

